When the Answer is…Wait

There’s really nothing easy in life. Whether it be losing 100 pounds or changing careers or choosing a new school for a child.

My family has been undergoing a lot of transitions recently. We’re faced with many important decisions. And we’ve really been seeking God for answers. And still, we wait. Do you ever find yourself in that position?

I’ve heard a lot of sayings over the years that should serve as some comfort. Things like, “waiting times are not wasted times” and “delayed blessings are not necessarily denied blessings.”

I guess it’s then when you really have to dig in deep to find your faith. Live your faith. And you have to trust that the God who created you is big enough, strong enough and capable enough to guide you in the right direction. Actually, it’s never God I doubt; it’s myself. It’s wonderful when He makes things so obviously clear that there’s no denying it’s His will.

When I was cast on The Biggest Loser up against hundreds of thousands of other applicants, it was obviously God’s will for my life. When I was able to work hard and lose the weight that had held me back for so much of my life—God’s will. When we were able to jump through so many hoops and cut effortlessly through red tape to execute the adoption of our precious little boy quickly and smoothly, it was obviously God’s hand at work.

So what about when things don’t fall so precisely into place? What then?

What if you have a weight-loss goal and the scale isn’t budging? You know it’s in God’s will to lose weight and get healthy and be a good steward of the body He gave you.

What if you have a goal to break a bad habit or make a positive personal change? But you can’t seem to conquer it and instead you are filled with anxiety and defeat.

It’s then that what we are truly made of comes through. I find scripture to be very enlightening and helpful during these times. God’s Word is more than just a little pat on the back and the utterance of a cliché from a well-meaning friend. If we can wrap our minds around the power and truth of scripture I think we can all draw great strength during these waiting, anxious times.

Here are two in particular that are blessing me at this crazy time in life. I share them with you in the hope that whatever struggle you may be facing will be made better by resting on these same promises from God.

  • “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)
  • “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to you.” (James 1:5)

As you read this, my wish is that you’ll be encouraged if you, too, happen to be going through some “waiting times.” Be sure that God has a wonderful plan for your life! Stay strong in your faith and it will come to pass.

About juliebl4

I'm Julie Hadden and for the past few years I've been on quite journey. My experience on Season 4 of "The Biggest Loser" resulted in a total transfomation in my life. What started out being about what I could "lose" turned more into what I "gained." God revealed great truths to me about the infinite WORTH we all possess in His eyes and I'm passionate about sharing what I learned through this process. View all posts by juliebl4

4 responses to “When the Answer is…Wait

  • Karen Koenig

    This just truly hits the nail on the head for me! I had been praying for months for God to show me what I needed to know in my life and weight loss journey and then boom, one day I see that BL14 is casting in Cleveland, Ohio and all I could hear in my head was no more excuses! I was all excited and then I froze and was like I can’t do this, why would they wanna pick me? I’m a no-one from Cleveland, Ohio who is definitely overweight, but their are others that are worse so don’t try out. Then I realized that no matter what, just for me I had to commit and go to be able to say I did it! So I committed my answer to friends and submitted my application and my job took a turn for the worse and my relationship, well not sure where that is going and I’m okay to leave and leave all this behind to focus on me and make changes b/c I’m stuck and can’t get out and I’m losing my motivation and inspiration and I’m feeling broken. So each day now I force myself to get up and know that what will be will be and that God has a plan for me somewhere and somehow. I just have to shut up and listen and get out of my own way! I’m so great at taking care of everyone else but when it comes to me there just isn’t time. So thank you for reiterating living my faith. I dnt know Gods plans or what the future holds but I know that for today I can be all that I can be.

  • Amanda Avery

    God really spoke to me through you! I was just thinking about this very topic this morning on my run (that’s usually the only time I have alone, as a mom). I had read this verse this morning before I left: The end of a matter is better than its beginning and patience is better than pride (Ecc 7:8). It’s been a crazy year for our family, and I’m thankful for the assurance that God is in control, and I’m grateful for encouragement like this just when I need it!

  • Tamara

    Julie, your post was perfect for me today as we are in a waiting pattern as well! Thank you, my friend for the encouragement! You are truly an inspiration to me as I know you are to many others! Love, Tamara “Stapp” Blankinchip

  • peggyspetplace

    Hi Julie! Great topic, I feel this way quite often! When I struggle with this issue, I like this verse: The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. Psalm 38: 7.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

